Ohio Presidents

Ohio Presidents
The first U.S. President from Ohio was William Henry Harrison. Though Harrison was born in Virginia, he did live in North Bend, Ohio at the time he was elected. He even represented Ohio in both the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate. Harrison originally ran for President in 1836 and lost; four years later his quest to become President was successful. He took the Presidential Oath of Office in March 1841. Just 32 days later, William Henry Harrison died for complications of pneumonia. He was the first American President to die in office.

After serving the Union as a general in the American Civil War, Ulysses S. Grant (born in Point Pleasant, Ohio) became the 18th President of the United States of America. His presidency lasts from 1869 to 1877, causing Grant to deal with after effects of the Civil War. During his presidency, African-Americans were represented in Congress for the first time. One of Grant’s most memorable acts as President was to establish the first National Park, Yellowstone.

Following Grant, Delaware, Ohio native Rutherford B. Hayes was elected as the 19th president. Hayes did not win the popular vote and won the Electoral College by only 1 vote. One of the most interesting events of his presidency was a bill that Hayes signed in 1879. This bill allowed female lawyers to argue cases in front of the U.S. Supreme Court. Rutherford B. Hayes served one term as President of the United States of America, a term that lasted from 1877 until 1881.

Born in Orange Township, Ohio (now called Moreland Hills), James Garfield became the 20th President in 1881. He had served for just 200 days, the second shortest Presidential term. On July 2, 1881, while on his way to deliver a speech at Williams College in Massachusetts, Garfield was shot twice—once in the arm and once in the back. He survived the shooting itself, but doctors were unable to remove the bullet. Due to infection, his heart weakened and he died 80 days later on September 19, 1881.

Benjamin Harrison, grandson of former president William Henry Harrison, served the country as the 23rd President. Harrison was born in North Bend, Ohio. He was the first peacetime president to approve $1 billion in appropriations. Benjamin Harrison served one term in the White House, from 1889 until 1893.

Born in Niles, Ohio, William McKinley was elected 25th President of the United States in 1896 and was elected for a second term in 1900. During his presidency, McKinley annexed Puerto Rico, Guam, the Philippines, and Hawaii. Though he was elected to two terms, an assassin’s bullet ended his life in September 1901.

The 27th President of the United States of America, William Taft, was born in Cincinnati, Ohio. He served from 1909 until 1913. In 1910, Taft became the first President to throw out the first pitch at a professional baseball game. William Taft is also the only men to serve both as U.S. President and as the Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Warren Harding, of Blooming Grove, Ohio, was the 29th American President. During his Presidency, Harding hosted the very first international strategic arms limitation talks. His presidency lasted from 1921 until 1923, ending when he died of an apparent heart attack in San Francisco, California.

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Lynn McMonigal. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lynn McMonigal. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.